Electorates in the Awutu-Senya West constituency have made history once again by voting for a new parliamentary candidate to represent them in the 8th Parliament of Ghana, which will be inaugurated on 7th January 2021.

Since 1992, constituents have always presented a different candidate every four years to represent them in the august House. In the 4th Republic, 8 general elections have been conducted in the constituency; the National Democratic Congress has been victorious on six (6) occasions, while the New Patriotic Party has won it twice.

Eric James won the seat for NDC in 1992 after NPP boycotted the parliamentary election in that year. Babalami Abu Sadat won it again for NDC in 1996 to be in Parliament.

In the 2000 election, the NDC introduced a young female lawyer in the person of Hannah Serwa Kpodor who won the seat, she contested against a male candidate from NPP.

NPP was favored in the 2004 election and won the seat for the first time with Hon. Oppey Abbey as their candidate. Hannah Serwaa Kpodor did not contest, NDC introduced a different person, another NDC party member David Nana Larbi went independent.

Interestingly, in 2008, the NDC brought back Nana Larbi, who went ahead to snatch the seat from the incumbent NPP MP, Hon. Oppey Abbey. However, in 2012 a new constituency Awutu Senya East (Kasoa) was created out of the old one. Hannah Serwaa Tetteh won her party primaries to contest Awutu Senya West seat again.

Eventually, she won the seat against former NPP MP Hon. Oppey Abbey in the 2012 general election for the NDC. That was the second time she won the seat as MP.

Fast forward to 2016, OccupyGhana member, George Andah appeared on the scene on the ticket of NPP to contest, he defeated then Foreign Affairs Minister and MP Hannah Serwaa Tetteh, who was the NDC’s candidate.

That was the second time New Patriotic Party won the seat.

History has shown that the constituent changes their MP every four years, it was the hope of many, especially members of the NPP that the situation will be different in the 2020 general election.

But quite interestingly, the historic recurrence of the voting pattern in Awutu-Senya West was rather enhanced when Hon. George Andah, the incumbent NPP MP couldn’t hold onto the seat. He has also been booted out by the NDC candidate Hon. Gizella Tetteh Agbotui; who happens to be the younger sister of Hannah Tetteh, the previous incumbent who Mr Andah defeated in 2016.

Certified results indicate that NPP George Andah polled 29,832 votes as against NDC Gizella Tetteh’s 32,708 votes in the 2020 parliamentary elections.

Congratulations to Hon Gizella Agbotui.

However the question on the lips of most political watchers, even before the newly-elected MP kick-starts her term is, will history repeat itself in 2024 or will Gizella change the narrative? Only time will time!


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here